Quality Assurance - Nursing and Midwifery

The Quality Assurance Handbook
Quality Assurance Handbook (2014):

The purposes of the handbook are:
To ensure that all quality assurance of education and training operates within the requirements of The Nursing and Midwifery Order 2001 which came into being on 1 April 2002. Specifically Part IV of the Nursing and Midwifery Order pertains to education and training and can be found on the NMC / Mott MacDonald website to ensure that nurses and midwives consistently deliver high quality healthcare.

This reviewers handbook for programme approval and programme monitoring (the Handbook), explains how the NMC UK-wide QA Framework will be applied throughout the UK. It also shows how quality assurance events relate to the NMC Professional Standards and Proficiencies and the Key Risks identified by the NMC.

The Handbook will:

  • Inform reviewers on how to conduct the different types of quality assurance activity
  • Guide reviewers on the questions they need to consider in making judgments about quality and decide on grades of risk
  • Inform education providers of the expectations of the various quality assurance processes

The aims of the handbook are to:

  • Promote high standards of delivery of nursing and midwifery education
  • Provide a basis for consistency, fairness and validity in programme approval and risk based monitoring events
  • Enable programme providers to prepare for reviews and work with reviewers to ensure the smooth running of the review processes
  • Support programme providers in their self-evaluation procedures

To achieve these aims, the handbook explains:

  • How the different types of quality assurance events will be organised and managed
  • The questions reviewers will be seeking to answer, the evidence they are likely to require to make their judgments and how assessments of risk will be made
  • The quality assurance procedures for quality assurance events (adapted from NMC Quality Assurance Handbook, 2011)

As part of the quality and monitoring process, NMC have identified risk criteria which includes:

  • Practice learning
  • Mentoring

All placement for nurses have to have a current educational audit, please see the Educational audit tools section for specific details.

Mentors who support and assess students in practice have to meet the NMC Standards to support learning and assessment in practice settings (SLAiP). This includes undertaking your scheduled annual mentor update and triennial review. The triennial review form can be found in the resources section.

Triennial Review

Triennial review is a process associated with quality assurance. It assess mentor competence and ongoing development needs and assures the quality of mentorship in practice.